CRM MCC Question and Answer – Guido Preite

I knew it would happen but I have finally run out of CRM MVP’s willing to answer my questions.  Luckily I have lined up a future CRM MVP (in my opinion) Guide Preite who has earned at least two MCC awards.  We get some answers from the boot shaped Italy, where incidentally I went on my honeymoon but not with Guido 🙂

If you don’t know what an MCC award is, I shall let Microsoft explain

 You can also see Guido is 10th in the All time verified answer Leaderboard.  This is a list which features all the Dynamic products (NAV, AX, CRM, GP)
here is his Rockstar 365 highlights
guido

 

1.    Name, current job title and social media links please

Guido Preite

Dynamics CRM Developer

Twitter: https://twitter.com/crmanswers

Blog: http://www.crmanswers.net

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/guidopreite

 

2.    What does an average day at work look like

Writing code, customer support, developing demo and internal tools.

 

3.    What different roles/Job titles have you had whilst using CRM

Developer/Trainer/Consultant

 

4.    What job did you did before you starting using CRM

I used to be a PHP/MySQL developer, but I always liked and used Microsoft languages (I started with QuickBasic 4.5)

 

5.    What was the first version of Microsoft Dynamics CRM you worked with and how long have you been using Microsoft Dynamics CRM

CRM 4.0 – I use Dynamics CRM since 2010

 

6.    How do you stay up to date with the CRM

It’s not easy because Dynamics CRM is a huge platform, I check often Twitter and I mark the interesting tweets as favorite so I can read them later.

 

7.    How do you find time to contribute to the CRM community whilst doing your job

I like to read the questions, I’m curious about the problems encountered in real CRM implementations, and if I can help, why not?

 

8.    What advice would you give to someone who wants to have a successful career in Microsoft Dynamics CRM?

The obvious one: to use the product every day

 

9.    What where your first impressions of CRM 2013 and what do you think now.

“Change is always positive” is one of my mantras and I apply it to CRM as well. I like the new UI, but under the hood several things still need to be improved.

 

10.  What one feature would you add to CRM 2013

OOB read audit (who read what and when)

 

11.  Most annoying feature of CRM 2013

Labels fade if the text is too long, it’s very annoying for some customers

 

12.  You favourite 2 CRM blogs (I have filled the first one in for you)

1.  Hosks Dynamic CRM blog

2.  http://niiranen.eu/crm/ Surviving CRM by MVP Jukka Niiranen

 

13.  What year will Microsoft Dynamics CRM have more customers than Sales force

14.  Are you doing more CRM projects with CRM online?  Do you think it will all be online in the future

CRM Online projects are the majority. I think On Premise will still be relevant for several years.

 

15.  What is the best tool/solution you have used recently

Role Updater (it’s inside XrmToolbox)

 

16.  What CRM certifications do you have, do you try and keep up to date with CRM certifications

CRM 2011: Customization & Configuration, Extending

CRM 2013: Customization & Configuration

 

I have a love-hate relationship with CRM certifications, currently I’m preparing CRM 2011 Applications.

 

17.  How important is it to have good business analytical skills working with Microsoft Dynamics CRM.

Fundamental, a lack of analytical skills can easily screw up a project

 

18.  How useful is it to have programming knowledge to become a good Microsoft Dynamics CRM Professional?

I’m a developer so you can guess my angle, but I think a basic programming knowledge is a must-have for a Dynamics CRM Professional.

 

 

19.  What knowledge/experience do you have with software/systems which integrate with Microsoft Dynamics CRM e.g. (sharepoint, SQL Server, Scribe, Etc)

SQL Server, CWR Mobility, a bit of Sharepoint and NAV.

 

 

20.  How often do you travel as a Microsoft Dynamics CRM Professional?

A few days a year, most to attend conferences or teach courses.

 

21.  Can you see yourself not using CRM in your career in the future

No, CRM is for end users, and we are all end users.

 

22.  What is favourite part of being a CRM MCC

The MCC star badge from Dynamics Community, who doesn’t like badges? 🙂

 

23.  What are your hobbies outside of CRM

I watch tons of TV Series (it’s a good way to improve my English) and I am a big fan of F.C. Internazionale

 

24.   What was the last book you read and what was the last film you watched

Book: “Unions” written by Robert Musil

Movie: “The Hunt” directed by Thomas Vinterberg

 

25.  Has CRM ever got you in trouble with your partner/family.

Sometimes 🙂 my wife is ready to go out and I reply to her “wait a sec, I need to reply to this question”

 

26.  Have you friends ever told you to stop talking/tweeting/blogging about CRM?
Never

 

27.  What does your partner/family member(s) think of CRM

They see I’m passionate about CRM, it’s enough for them

 

28.  Tell me something interesting/unusual about yourself

The movie Chungking Express changed my life, I watched it more than 12 times

 

29.  Who is the first CRM MVP you remember reading/seeing

Jim Wang (http://jianwang.blogspot.com)

 

30.  Tips for someone who wants to become a CRM MCC

Often a question has been asked before: try to avoid link-only answers adding a brief introduction/explanation, it’s important to know also the cause, not only the solution.

 

Quickfire questions (choose one option and no explanation)

Steve Jobs or Bill Gates

Bill Gates

 

Javascript or .NET

.NET

 

Internet Explorer/Chrome/Firefox/Safari

Chrome

 

Wine/Beer/Soft Drink

Soft Drink

 

Certifications or Use CRM

Use CRM

 

twerking or tweeting

tweeting

 

books or ebooks

ebooks

 

save or autosave

save

 

OnLine or On Premise

On Premise

 

Windows 7/Windows 8/Linux/Mac/Other

Mac

 

work from home or work from office

work from home

 

Miley Cyrus or Billy Ray Cyrus

No thanks, I am European

 

Vinyl/CD’s/MP3’s/Subscribe

Amazon AutoRip

 

Zero Inbox/Overflowing Inbox

Zero Inbox

 

Early Bird/Night Owl

Night Owl

 

Do Today/Do Tomorrow

Do Tomorrow

 

CRM Developer/CRM Consultant

CRM Developer

 

Hot Weather/Cold Weather

How Weather

 

Half Full/Half Empty

Half Empty

 

3 thoughts on “CRM MCC Question and Answer – Guido Preite

  1. kapor July 31, 2014 / 4:27 pm

    Please someone, give an AWARD to hosk! He absolutely deserves it and obviously desperate needs it!!!
    Hosk thank you for all the good work you are doing! Hope your MVP comes soon 🙂 perhaps you could remove the bugs from your logos 😉 (ladybug, bee(bug)).

    Like

    • Hosk July 31, 2014 / 4:32 pm

      Thanks for the comment, I’m not at the desperation stage yet :-), I was also saying Guido should get an MVP award not myself.

      Why do you want me to remove my bug logo’s?

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.