The Birmingham Dynamics 365 user groups historic first meeting

“Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much” -Helen Keller

“None of us is as smart as all of us.” –Ken Blanchard

Work is not about being clever it’s about working together

The Birmingham Dynamics 365 user group meeting and 15 people meet up at the chambers of commerce to discuss Dynamics 365 – Dynamics 365, What is it, Pros, Cons?

Group details

  1.  Check out the official meetup page and sign up – Birmingham Dynamics 365 user group
  2. To understand why you should join read this blog post – Birmingham Dynamics 365 User Group has startedJoin now
  3. We have 56 members and new members are joining all the time
  4. We plan on meeting once a month and having a deep dive on new Dynamics 365 features and functionality
  5. The group has great CRM professionals, including a CRM MPV – Neil Parkhurst USD MVP – who blogged a

The first meeting

The meeting started with a small talk from Neil Parkhurst summarising the recent CRM MVP summit.  Unfortunately due to the NDA he couldn’t tell use the details but it was interesting to hear about the work which goes into becoming a CRM MVP and  the MVP summit experience.

15 people turned up to the first meeting and the Dynamics 365 presentation produced interesting discussion on Dynamics 365, everyone’s understanding of it and how it will affect the future of Dynamics professionals and solutions.

bout the first meeting – new user group up and running 

I think the group will grow from strength to strength with more people turning up for meetings and I’m looking forward to seeing some interesting presentations and discussions.

The Hosk Blog

A few people at the meeting  thanked me for the content I published on my Dynamics CRM blog, it‘s great and humbling to know sharing my experiences and knowledge on Dynamics CRM has helped people.

When I started out blogging about Dynamics CRM, the goals of blogging was

  • Increase my knowledge on Dynamics CRM by explaining it to others
  • log errors and workarounds to help myself and others
  • An online brain dump for issues I had resolved
  • develop my understanding of how Dynamics CRM works

My goals focuesd on improving myself and improving my understanding of Dynamics CRM.  I have blogged about Dynamics CRM for years and I am meeting quite a few people recenctly who thank me for writing my blog posts and explain how my blog helped them either learn to develop Dynamics CRM solutions or helped resolve a problem.

I appreciate the great comments and I’m glad other people find the blog useful.

Two people who helped my blog

  • CRM MVP Adam Vero has left many comments which corrected parts of my blog posts and encouraged me to keep writing my blog
  • CRM MVP Gus Gonzalez who encouraged me to create posts featuring my own thoughts and ideas (the first 500 blog posts were of poor quality)

I’m not a CRM MVP but I’m glad the Hosk CRM blog has helped lots of people in the Dynamics CRM community.  Blog writing persistence pays off because I am meeting more and more people who tell me they are readers of my blog.

It gives me a platform to annoy people like Adam with #HoskWisdom to poor subsribers expected Dynamics 365/CRM posts but instead get some HoskWisdom

Signup, learn and have fun

If you live in the Midlands please sign up for the user group and meet excellent Dynamics professionals sharing experience, knowledge, opinions and stories on Dynamics 365 development.

I look forward to more interesting presentations and learning points from future meetings.

Great thanks to Imtiaz for setting up the Dynamics 365 user group

 

Leave a Reply

