CRM 2011 – error using Xrm.Utility.OpenEntityForm

I was fixing some code where the code passes a field to a form and then opens it using the excellent Xrm.Utility.openEntityForm

I added a new parameter, parameter_2.  This was going to pass the name of a field I wanted to use

    this.SelectCustomer = function () {

        /// <summary>

        /// Passes customer field values into the customer search screen for a user to create / search

        /// for their workshop entry

        /// </summary>

        var parameters = {};

        parameters[ “paramater_1”] = “name”;

        parameters[ “paramater_2”] = “hosk_searchfield”;

        Xrm.Utility.openEntityForm( “Hosk_Search”, null,  parameters);



I wanted to add one more field but when I added a new field, the form didn’t open and I just got an error.  A generic, which doesn’t tell you anything, I have been getting quite a few of these errors the last couple of weeks

error screen

I tried to debug the javascript onload but it wasn’t even being called.

I took away the new field and it worked.


calm down, be logical, engage brain.

I started with the SDK/documentation, lets see what should happen

lets look at the parameters section
Type: Object

Optional: A dictionary object that passes extra query string parameters to the form. Invalid query string parameters will cause an error. Valid extra query string parameters are:

It turns out the parameters are an optional dictionary object and more importantly

Invalid query parameters will cause an error

So basically when I passed an extra variable but I hadn’t added the variable to the form so it was erroring.


So where do you add these pesky form variables

  • go to the form
  • Form Properties
  • Parameters
Field Form

So I added in the new parameter, saved and published and boom, everything was working, hazaar.


Who thought CRM would have been so picky, ok hands down everyone

One thought on “CRM 2011 – error using Xrm.Utility.OpenEntityForm

Leave a Reply

