CRM 2011/2013 online – you can change the base language but it will cost you money and data

I read a forum question this week, where the user asked if it was possible to change his base language from French to English and he was a CRM 2011 online user.

It was quickly explained to the user that it’s impossible to change the base language.

This is a commonly known fact for experienced CRM users and might even be one of the questions on one of the CRM exams.

Suddenly from out of no where a CRM Support engineers flies in with this answer

  It is correct that in the past changing the Base Language was not possible. I must inform you though that it can be achieved now by opening a Support Ticket with the Technical Support team. The base language change has it’s cost though, it can only be achieved by de-provisioning/re-provisioning your organization (deleting/recreating) which means that any data or customizations you have on the organization will be lost during this process. You will need to take care of backing up the data yourself if that is needed.

you can click here to read the forum post

So now it seems if you are willing to give Microsoft some cold hard cash they can change the base language but it will remove all your data and customizations will be lost.  This sounds suspiciously like they are just creating a new blank CRM to me and getting paid for it.  This is a rather drastic measure which I can’t really see anyone going for but file it away in the good to know (but not that useful) draw.

4 thoughts on “CRM 2011/2013 online – you can change the base language but it will cost you money and data

  1. jonas November 4, 2014 / 8:13 pm

    Hi, are you sure the support engineer meant case as a cost? The phrasing could be interpreted (I did) as a cost of loss of data and customizations?


    • Hosk November 5, 2014 / 2:16 pm

      I think he meant cost because it would cost them time too refresh an organisation with a blank one and I’m sure Microsoft don’t do that thing for free.

      But I could be wrong.

      hopefully I will never find out


      • Desy June 8, 2015 / 1:26 pm

        Dude, you are a complete retard. The “cost” of changing it that way is the loss of your data. Learn to read AND understand English.

        Also no need to speculate, the Support guy was pretty clear on that: “de-provisioning/re-provisioning” means deleting the old one and creating a new instance of the CRM. You just need the fucking read, instead of crying cause your English sucks


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s