CRM 2013 – quick way to get the guid on a form

I had previously written an blog about this

and the method involved getting the url and copying out the guid from it, which is a bit slow and painful, particuarly on non default entities because there are two guids in the url and I keep forgetting which one I need.

Also someone informed the url is no longer displayed in CRM 2013!

Then a comment from Michael Blackburn gave me a much simplier solution, which I thought I should share because it’s certainly made my life a lot easier.

Press F12 to open the developer console, Click the script tab, and in the bottom right, next to the >> type in:

If you need to call any Xrm function from the context of the javascript console, you can do so by prefacing it with frames[0].


capture guid



Here is video link, showing you how to get the guid in Chrome and IE in CRM 2013

16 thoughts on “CRM 2013 – quick way to get the guid on a form

  1. henryjammes January 15, 2014 / 10:29 am

    In Internet Explorer I use favorites to inject JavaScript into the form and get the GUID.
    Here is the “URL” I use to inject the JavaScript (I press CTRL + I to access the favorites if no menu is available)
    I can then copy the content of the JavaScript alert pop-up.


  2. AdrianR January 15, 2014 / 11:13 am

    And if you’re using the Outlook client for CRM, you can press [Ctrl]+N to open the current form in Internet Explorer.


  3. raj January 15, 2014 / 8:53 pm

    you can run cd(frames[0]) before running this. this eliminates the need to constantly prefix frames[0] when executing commands from console. in chrome you can simply choose the frame on which the js will be executed, but not in IE.


  4. Helen Warn July 4, 2014 / 9:13 pm

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!
    You just saved me hours of misery🙂


  5. Mike kolling August 8, 2014 / 11:38 am

    Doesnt work for me
    Unable to get property ‘entity’ of undefined or null reference


    • Seamus November 19, 2014 / 10:46 am

      Mike, I was getting this error too – in IE11, in the console window, make sure your target is _top:main.aspx and just enter This worked for me.


  6. Steven September 23, 2015 / 9:53 am

    This page is my browser’s top most crm favourite. Thanks Hosk.


    • Hosk September 23, 2015 / 10:13 am

      There is an easier way using javascript bookmarklets, I will blog about it this week or next week.


Leave a Reply

