CRM 2011 – How to copy a workflow

Today I needed to make a few workflows which were very similar to one I had already created.

I looked around CRM but I couldn’t see any copy functionality or a sneaky save as in the workflow (which you can do with lists).

I searched for the problem and there were a few blog posts but I didn’t understand quite what they were telling me because I couldn’t find the Activate as field (just under the Process name if you are wondering)

The solution is quite simple, you basically unpublish the workflow change it’s Activate As to Process template, publish it and then you can create copies of this workflow but only for workflows using the same entity, which when you think about it wouldn’t make any sense to create them for other entities.

This blog has a brilliant step by step process (with pictures)

4 thoughts on “CRM 2011 – How to copy a workflow

  1. Axel Auvinen February 21, 2014 / 8:36 am

    It is annoying how Microsoft CRM 2011 lacks some basic functionalities in places like this. It would be so easy to just Save As and then modify it.. But hey, thanks for this! Saved about 30-45 minutes of my time.


  2. Rickard Norström March 11, 2014 / 9:08 am

    Thanks for saving a lot of time for me too! As always your blog is a good place to find neat features, or work arounds for problems.


    • Hosk March 11, 2014 / 9:10 am

      Thanks Rickard, glad you are enjoying the blog


Leave a Reply

