CRM/NAV Connector not working after Connector upgrade to V2

I was trying to set up a new connector configuration whilst updating an existing connector installation.

One of the things I haven’t worked out is to have the connector connecting multiple NAV databases that use different services.

When you setup the connector you can only point it at one service in the adapter settings, unfortunately I would like to link to multiple services but this would mean having lots of different connector installations.

So instead I was replacing one and I thought I would upgrade the connector whilst I was there.

After upgrading the connector, I then couldn’t connect to the integration services.  The first reason was I didn’t have the correct license, DOH.  The second reason was the code units hadn’t compiled?!

I was getting the error below along with quite a few other error messages

I’m not sure why but when I was connecting to the connector integration web services I was getting compiled errors.

I initially recompiled the codeunits but this didn’t resolve the problem, so I then googled the problem and found some instructions which didn’t just compile the code units but ALL. I found these instructions on information about upgrading instructions for NAV 2009 R2, so it might have been a problem with the database I was using but I thought it was R2 (but my knowledge of NAV is not extensive)

Install and Upgrade Instructions for Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 R2

Performing a Solution Upgrade

You perform the following steps to upgrade a solution from Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 SP1 to Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 R2:

  1. Back up your Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 SP1 database.
  2. Uninstall Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 SP1.When you uninstall Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 SP1, your database is not removed.
  3. Install Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 R2 components. For more information, see Install and Configure Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 SP1 in the MSDN Library.If you use SQL Server with Microsoft Dynamics NAV, then you must select SQL Server Database Components, which were removed when you uninstalled Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 SP1, and select the Demo Database subcomponent of the Database components as Not available. If you do not exclude the Demo Database subcomponent, then you may see the following error message:Fatal error during installation. A database with name Demo Database NAV (6-0) already exists.

    The message may also advise you to delete the database. If you see this error message, then you can ignore it.

  4. Open the Classic client, and then connect to your database.A dialog box opens and says that the database must be converted before you can use it with this version of Microsoft Dynamics NAV Classic. ClickOK to convert your database.
    If you have installed the Classic client and the database on the same computer and you are running Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 R2 on Windows 7, Windows Server 2008, or Windows Vista, then click Start, point to All Programs, click Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009, and then right-click Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2009 with Microsoft SQL Server. On the shortcut menu, click Run as administrator.
  5. Recompile all objects in your database. To recompile the objects, in the Classic client, on the Tools menu, click Object Designer. Click All, press CTRL+A to select all objects, and then press F11.

After I did that then I could connect to the connector integration services without any problems and I was on to the next step of adding a non standard map.

Leave a Reply

