CRM 2011 – After editing Sitemap my new group is unknown

Why is this group “unknown” showing up after upgrade?

If you customized the CRM 4 sitemap by adding a custom sub area to the settings area then you will get a group titled “unknownXX” after you upgrade your server to CRM 2011.

clip_image002This occurs because there is no specified title for this group. The reason that you will see this only after you upgrade is because the CRM 2011 settings area is broken down into 4 new groups, whereas in CRM 4 everything was in a single group that unfortunately did not have a title. To fix this you just need to update your settings area similarly to:

<Area Id=”Settings” ResourceId=”Area_Settings” Icon=”/_imgs/settings_24x24.gif” DescriptionResourceId=”Settings_Area_Description”> <Group Id=”Settings”> <Titles> <Title Title=”Your Custom Title” LCID=”XXXX” /> </Titles> <!–The rest of your sitemap customizations–> </Group> <!–More groups added by CRM–> </Area>

Going forward if you see “unknown” for one of your other custom areas, groups or subareas you will want to double check that you have specified a title for the element.

See the SDK topic Editing the Site Map for specific information about how to edit the sitemap.


One thought on “CRM 2011 – After editing Sitemap my new group is unknown

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s