A customer asked me what happens when they revise a quote and can they view the historical quotes.
Now I know the process of quotes is you create a draft, then activate the quote.
if the quote changes then revised the quote, this increments the revision number by one.
but what happens to the revised quotes?
where do they go?
how do you view them?
I had to tell the customer that I didn’t know but I had an idea the quotes were closed and the revised quote was a new quote with the same ID and a revision number incremented by one.
As it happens that is what happens. For a quote you can only have one quote with the status of draft/active. Any other quotes with the same quote id will be made inactive with a status of closed.
You can view the quote history by doing an advanced find and choosing where quote id = the quote id. This will then show you all of the quotes.
I’m not sure what will happen if you turned on auditing for quotes. It depends on how quotes actually work. When you revised the quote does it create an old quote and close it, creating a snapshot of the quote. Or does it close the existing quote and create a new one.