CRM 2011 – Outlook add-in installed but not appearing

I had installed the outlook Add-In and it had been running for a month or so and then suddenly it stopped appearing in Outlook.

The folders weren’t there and non of the functionality was showing.

I tried accessing CRM using the browser and the it didn’t give me the message saying I should install CRM Add-in for outlook.

After some investigation I found out the Add-In had been disabled! I have no idea when, how or who did this.

To see if the CRM Add-In is disabled go to

Outlook -> Options -> Add-Ins

This will then show you the list of Add-Ins and if they are active, inactive and disabled



From there look at the manage section at the bottom.

Use the drop down to select Disabled Items and press the GO button, select the CRM Add-in and choose enable.

Then change the drop down to Com Add-ins and press the GO button.

you can now tick the Microsoft Dynamics CRM tickbox.

You have now enabled Microsoft Dynamics CRM outlook Add-in.

You may have to restart outlook but after that CRM should once again be working in outlook.

2 thoughts on “CRM 2011 – Outlook add-in installed but not appearing

  1. Shannon Faithfull November 17, 2011 / 11:44 pm

    I had a simiiar thing happen,had to do what you did too.
    It happened on my Project Managers Laptop running 365office pro with CRM online
    The addin disabled and the ribbons vanished on top in outlook confused me hard.
    I did what you did, then kept investigated the rest of the problem,3 hours later,punching in specific wording I found the issue was reigstry errors there was a 2.4 and 2.5 version in the registry keys same folder…kileed the ribbon it did.
    The old registry was from 2007 and the new registry was 2010,deleted old registry and then away.
    I found it through the Microsoft forums.
    It was titled:

    The Outlook and CRM ribbons disappear from Microsoft Outlook when you use the Microsoft Dynamics CRM Client for Microsoft Office Outlook

    located at:


  2. mrashwan November 10, 2014 / 1:13 pm

    hey ben.. thanks for this. I didn’t know about the dll needing to be enabled first!


Leave a Reply

