CRM 2011 – Problems setting a manager for a user

I knew of the manager setting on a user and it’s theorecitical use because I learnt it whilst studying for one of the CRM exams.

You basically have use a manager role to escalate messages, warnings, noticiations in CRM.  So rather than hard coding a particular user you use the manager role and then in your workflows etc you use this role rather than hard code it to an individual.

I had problems today whilst trying to  set a manager for someone, in fact it was greyed out.  This had me puzzled for a while and then I managed to figure it out.

You can’t set a manager to someone who is a  manager.

which doesn’t sound like real life because most managers have managers.

This is a bit quirky but if you run into this problem one day I hope you will remember this.

4 thoughts on “CRM 2011 – Problems setting a manager for a user

  1. Pablo Peralta (@pabloperalta) September 20, 2011 / 8:43 pm

    By default Manager field is greyed out and you will need to set up a manager by pressing ‘Change Manager’.
    Have you tried this?


    • Hosk September 20, 2011 / 8:46 pm

      I did try this but I couldn’t set a manager if the person is a manager


  2. Paul February 15, 2012 / 12:10 am

    I had no problem setting up hierarchical managers.


  3. Weifeng Jiang August 31, 2012 / 2:20 am

    I have no problem with setting up hierarchical managers as well.


Leave a Reply

