70-515 – Introduction to MVC 2 Videos

I have been studying the 70-515 .NET 4 Web Certification since the start of the year.  I am using a few different sources of information but the main one is the MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-515): WEb Applications Development with Microsoft .NET Framework 4 book.  Yes I agree it’s a catchy title which they must have spent  a long time deciding on, well along time saying it that’s for sure.

This book is excellent, it describes things in an easy to understand way, the only complaint I have is it’s massive, I have worked out it’s 880 pages and today I have gone past the half way stage, yes I have read 441 pages.  If you would like to buy the book, get over to Amazon here

I am also watching some videos and today I watched a video on MVC 2, which features loads on the practise exam questions I have been testing myself with.  Before I watched the video I was terrible at the MVC 2 questions but I had to wait until round to learning it because there are loads of things to learn for the 70-515 exam.

I have to say my first impression of MVC 2 is it’s confusing and it seems like you have to put loads of configuration values in classes and within error prone “TEXT” strings.

I don’t think I fully understand it yet but my first look is it reminds me a bit of the Java framework Struts and Spring which used to filter messages to and from the backend to the frontend.  The beauty of Struts and Spring was you put all your mapping into xml files which seems easier to deal with because all the vales were in the same place.  You also had to create folders in correct locations, whilst I was watching the videos I thought it must be very difficult to bug fix an MVC 2 solution if you had done something wrong in the setup.

I can imagine that it would be quite complex if you had loads controllers and views

The first thing I have noticed is that I have started to understand the questions on my practise test.  I also noticed in a few places there is MVC 3, bloody hell I haven’t learnt MVC 2 yet.

So I thought I would give myself some homework to learn more about MVC 2 before I read the chapter on it and here are some links





Leave a Reply

