CRM 2011 – How to find how many licenses you are using

Posted on June 7, 2011

3


Whilst my previous blog post wondered about how Microsoft polices the number of licences being used, it then got me thinking where do you find the number of licences being used.

When I was doing this in CRM 4, I was using the Deployment manager, so I thought I would check this is still the same in CRM 2011.

One quick way to work out how many licences are being used is to go to CRM 2011 and go to settings/users.

This will show you a basic count of all the active users you have on the system.  It will show read only and full cals but for a quick guide this is actually quite a useful way.

You can also find this information using the deployment manager, you will have to be logged onto the CRM server and have permissions of course.  It has slightly changed from CRM 4 and it took me a while to work out where the information was.

You need to open CRM Deployment manager and then click on Microsoft Deployment Manager and not any of the other options below.

You then press the properties button on the right or go to action/properties.  This will bring up the screen below and then you choose the licenses tab and you can see how many licenses are being used

Posted in: CRM 2011